Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer


The softball team has won the Illinois Skyway Collegiate Conference championship seven times—2008, 2005, 2002, 2000, 1999, 1998, 1996, including an undefeated season in 1999. They were sectional champions in 1987 and appeared in the NJCAA national tournament in 1989.

Some standout players include Carly Trinley, Hannah Theilmann, Sandy Saunders, and Sam Owens.

Trinley was named Illinois Skyway Collegiate Conference Player of the Year in 2014 and 2015.

Theilmann won every conference game she pitched during the 2015 season and also earned All-Conference and All-Region IV honors. She was named Skyway Pitcher of the Year in 2016 thanks to a collective 2.12 ERA, 63 strikeouts, 16 walks, and eight wins in conference. She was on the All-Region and All-Conference team in 2016 as well.

Owens was named to the All-Region team in her first season with the Cyclones (2016) after averaging .565 with a .611 on-base percentage, 21 RBIs, 11 doubles, one triple, and 26 hits.

As pitcher, Saunders was named 2011 Skyway  Player of the Year. That honor came one year after she maintained a 1.96 ERA over 89 innings, striking out 70 batters and giving up just 25 earned runs.